University students should be required to take history courses no matter what field they study. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There have been heated debates for the recent years about whether nor not to remove history classes from the curriculums of students whose majors are utterly irrelevant to history. It is reasonable to regard history class as a compulsory course for every student irrespective of their majors because this is beneficial to not only quality education but also an improvement in students' transferable skills.

History classes, especially those related to their own countries, are intact part of a well-rounded educational system. Through the history courses, students can acquire knowledge about historical events and celebrities, be illuminated by the wisdom of them, and develop a sense of identity about their nation. What students gain in the history class, with the assistance of sound academic performance gained from major subjects, makes a student a well-rounded student. Those students are more likely to make as much contribution as possible to society because they are willing to and able to. Otherwise, a student without a sense of identity might not contribute effectively to his country because he might emigrate to other countries which are more appealing.

Meanwhile, history classes also impart valuable transferable skills to students regardless of their majors and even financial status. Given the fact that they are generally knowledgeable and of excellent critical thinking, professors in history classes can help students, through in-class debates, lectures, and discussion, analyse an event from various aspects and dimensions so that they help students fosters critical thinking, rational, and many other merits as their virtues. Those transferable skills are critically important not only for advanced education but also for a sound working performance and clear career path. In fact, a student who enrols in a master degree of biology is more likely to resolve problems in experiments with the assistance of critical thinking; likewise, an employee who can rationally analyse and address adversity in work is more appealing to employers.

On balance, never should history courses be excluded from the curriculum of any college students, considering the benefits brought by a well-rounded educational system as well as those transferable skills.