The use of mobile phones should be banned in public places like libraries and shops. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Mobile phones have become an essential part of daily activity. There have been recent calls for the regulation of mobile phones in public areas. I completely disagree with the statement that a complete ban is unrealistic and impractical.

There are several reasons why mobile phones should be banned. Firstly, if people in public places use their mobile phones to communicate they are likely to make a lot of noise that will affect those who need a quiet space to work or rest, especially ringtones that make a distraction. Secondly, mobile phones can be used to take photos of other people without their permission. The sound and flash from the camera make people uncomfortable besides that the signal on the phones can cause a problem in some public places like hospitals which have lots of equipment. Another point to take into account is that using the phone in front of other people while they are advising you make them feel antisocial.

I believe that mobile phones should be restricted in the public area. These devices easily are turned into silent or vibrate mode, which means the surrounding spaces around them are private. Furthermore, phones are used in case of emergencies such as an accident people would be able to contact medical support. Instead, phones can help parents easily keep track of children wherever they are. For example, they can contact them as quickly as possible to ensure their youngster's safety. Finally, a simple method of payment is also introduced which means you can easily pay through the app without cash which makes the payment more convenient.