The use of private cars dominates most large cities in the world, causing a negative effect on the quality of life for the majority of the people who live in these cities.

Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The domination of private cars using in developed urban areas is believed to be responsible for a variety of social issues frustrating the city dwellers dramatically. In order to address the problem, some people suggest using other type of vehicles instead of private cars and also launching worldwide laws to keep the car ownership and use in limitation. While I agree that the use of different vehicles is a good measurement, I don’t think that new laws can help to improve the situation.

For a variety of reasons, using alternative forms of transport will reduce the negative impacts of private cars and bring more benefits if they are used efficiently. Firstly, car is one of the main factors of traffic congestion because of it’s big size, taking more place on the road than others like bicycle or motorcycle. Secondly, it’s usually designed to allow users travel at high speed which other vehicles can’t reach, thereby being more potential to cause traffic accident. Thirdly, going by bicycle or walking is such a good type of physical activities that improve the health and also protect the environment. To demonstrate the advantages of alternative vehicle, for examples, in Japan where electronic train and walking is the most popular means of transport, the inhabitual standart of life is always on the top of the world in comparison with other country.

On the other hand, I believe that introducing international law is out of practice and can’t solve the problem completely. Because each country has it’s own features of economy, society and so on, it’s is quite complicated and difficult to manage the exact value of the amount of car ownership in this one, thereby being a challenge to create common principles which can reach the agreement of all the participants. Even in the case of success in creating a new law, it’s totally not certain that laws will be obeyed completely because national situation can be changing day by day, the law may be suitable now but not in the future. That’s can create argument and confliction among participants.

With all the reasons mentioned below, I believe using other means of transport will cover all the negative side of private car and improve the quality of life of the dwellers but the idea of an international law is unrealistic and impossible to solve the problem efficiently.