The use of social media is replacing face to face interaction among many people in society Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

The Advances in technology have brought a new era of Social Media Networks. Althought, this new way of communnications was thoughted as a tool to become stronger relations, some people have realized that is replacing face-to-face interaction. In my opinion, in spite of the great advantages of this new era as the chance to contact anyone anywhere and to record any interaction, the physical-based method is irreplaceable due to the non-verbal communication and the lower quantity of misunderstandings.

Starting with the advantages of Social Media, it is interesting to analyze how this new era, in difference to face-to-face interaction, created the idea of a global communicated world with a huge range of recorded data. As I mentioned in the previous paragraph, social media networks as Twitter, Facebook or Instagram allowed us the possibility to not just only contact someone in the other side of the world but also save and share any interaction with that person. Let take as an example, the differences between a relation that a traveller has with your relatives today than ten years ago, nowadays it is possible to share messages, photos and videos, while in the past, this would be impossible.

About the disadvages of loosing face-to-face interaction, these new technologies brings a lot of errors in communications and misunderstandings. On the one hand, some things such as sarcasm or humor are difficult to reflect for virutal interactions. On the other hand, as all we know, the non-verbal communication is a really important, a message could be totally different to another just for a little gesture. As a proof of this, in the beginning of the first chats on the internet, it was neccesary to develope the Emojis, as a way to replace this kind of non-verbal expressions.

To conclude, and for all the aformentioned arguments, these both comunnication methods have their own adavantages, for this reason, I am inclined to believe that the best choice is to use them as complementaries.