The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society.

Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that in our technological age individuals extensively rely on social media to exchange socially. In my opinion, the disadvantages of this phenomenon are outweighed by its advantages.

On the one hand, we cannot deny the negative side of this development. People can become more isolated and loose communicational and co-operational skill. In other words, when people do not do tangible conversation they lose the sense of unity, as a result, they may become self-centered. For example, scientists who have conducted research in this area have argued that people who prefer to communicate via social media have more egoistic character.

On the flip side, the most important benefit is that the social network is proven extremely convenient for information exchange and relationship maintenance, therefore, it will help to save money and time. By the way of explanation, due to the busy lifestyle of individuals it is getting hard to stay in touch with loved ones, however, social media platforms as Instagram, Telegram, Zoom have made it incredibly easy to make fruitful connections with relatives and potential leads. Moreover, meeting online rather than face-to-face interaction can prevent the spread of various diseases especially now, during the pandemic, replacing traditional meetings with online conferences has prevented infection with the COVID-19. For example, journal Science reported: with COVID-19, online learning and working have proven themselves to be a viable solution for continuity in education, and numerous problems were addressed due to social media.

In conclusion, from my point of view, online communication is a new trend that brings more advantages than disadvantages because they help us in various complicated circumstances and simplify our work.