The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In our rapidly changing world, the introduction and development of social networking have always been the hottest issue that directly affects our daily lives. Whether these online applications such as Facebook, Instagram, Skype, etc may substitute for face-to-face communication, I believe that the benefits they bring may overshadow the drawbacks.

First of all, it is undeniable that with the variety and availability of online platforms currently, an enormous number of people can access the internet easily for any purpose. People from all around the world can stay connected, update the latest information, and exchange information at any time and anywhere. For example, due to an outburst of COVID-19 recently, many people are expected to work from home via a technology device like a laptop. Consequently, social networking sites are so beneficial and help workers to complete the work without needing to go to work. Moreover, despite a long-distance, parents can keep in touch with the children studying abroad thanks to technological innovation like a smartphone. At the same time, love couples can nurture their love by calling and texting each other on Facebook, Skype in which distance plays a crucial part.

On the other hand, as many upcoming online platforms are about to introduce, people tend to rely excessively on the virtual world. For instance, people are more likely to use a food delivery section on Grab to buy food instead of buying fresh groceries and cooking on their own. Hence, people are inclined to stay in their comfort zone rather than stepping out, socializing, and learning new skills. What is more dangerous is that people will be lack of basic skills to survive, interact, and speak up under important circumstances like in a group discussion at school, a work meeting, a job interview, etc.

In conclusion, social media can have a significant positive impact on society, however, their drawbacks should not be overlooked.