The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Face-to-face interaction is being replaced by online conversations on social media, such as Facebook and Twitter. Of course, using social media offers many benefits, but I think that we should also have a look at the drawbacks.

The most essential advantage is that social media is really convenient for those who want to exchange information and maintain their relationships, especially with some people living far from home. This may be necessary for a family member who works or studies abroad. In that case, face-to-face conversations are unlikely to take place, and they will be replaced by chatting or video calls. In addition, using social networks will eliminate geographical distance and save members of the family money by staying at home to communicate over the internet.

On the other hand, the replacement of face-to-face interaction also has some disadvantages. One of them is that people will depend on online communication and forget how to converse with other people in real life. They may be affected not only by their constitution, but also by their mental health, such as loneliness, laziness, and stress. In addition, social media apps can be attacked by hackers. There are some apps with weak security, which will make it easier for others to steal your information. In some popular social networks, you can be attacked by toxic conversations.

For those reasons I mentioned, I feel that the negative impacts of social media on our communication outweigh the positive ones.