The use of surveillance cameras to deter criminals is becoming increasingly prevalent in many large cities all over the world.

The use of surveillance cameras to deter criminals is becoming increasingly prevalent in many large cities all over the world. Some people take the position that it intrudes on human privacy. Although I partly agree with this assertion, I believe that the advantages of reinforcing security by means of video cameras outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, the principal reason why many people do not advocate the mass installation of surveillance cameras is that they are not accustomed to being monitored all the time by these devices. For some individuals, this surveillance is redundant and often cause them to be uncomfortable. These people claim that their individual freedom is invaded although they are not suspects. For example, when they are walking down the street, at bus stations or hanging out with their loved ones, the feeling of being observed have an inclination to make them become embarrassed and sometimes irritated. As a result, many believe camera surveillance is inadvisable and privacy is one of the most important rights which must be respected in this civilised world.

On the other hand, I personally believe that surveillance cameras bring more benefits to human life than disadvantages they create. Needless to say, widespread observation in public areas will make a huge contribution to the reduction of crime rates. In plain terms, when knowing that all their movements are under surveillance, people will not have the intention to engage in unlawful conduct. For instance, drivers will be more likely to conform with traffic rules such as not exceeding the speed limit or not driving through a red light when being conscious of the fact that their traffic offences are being recorded by video cameras. Therefore, the extensive installation of video cameras is crucial, especially in metropolises where there are a large number of inhabitants, workers and tourists.

According to the above analysis, although the utilisation of camera systems will certainly in part invade individual freedom, I hold the view that it is still of importance and will only benefit society.