Violence in the media promote violence in society. To what extent do you agree?

People are living in the world of media such as the internet, TV or newspapers. Violence is a common problem portrayed in it. I partly agree with the aforementioned statement that violence in media affects to psychology of viewers. This essay will give two sides of violence in media; One is positive and other side is negative.

The furious actions in movies can leave a bad impression on the character building of a child. In this case, children aged under 18 years-old are still in search of their identity stage and have no strong character to filter what they see or hear. For instance, a child spends 5 to 6 hours per day watching many videos on television such as cartoons or movies and playing video games. He or she may have a tendency to re-enact what he or she watches or hears from the media they consume. The child wants to be a hero and prefers using guns or swords to fight with others like the heroes that are portrayed in the media. This behaviour can lead to violence such as the child becoming easily violent or mad at others. This type of behaviour can take a negative effect to the child’s own personality over time as they grow up and develop. It's a proof to demonstrate that criminals increasingly rejuvenate.

However, this doesn’t mean violence in media can be blamed solely for a person’s violence. Violence tendencies can be created by a combination of a person’s genetics and living environment. It's so silly when the news blame violence in media for when an individual is violent as using media as the sole reason ignores the many other complex causes of a person’s violence and instead focuses on one small factor just to make a headline. In addition, the positive side of violence in media can warn people about dangerous situations in life and can show ways for oneself to stay safe and the government will take measures to prevent crime.

In summary, everything has two sides and violence in media also has its own merits and demerits. So, to gain the advantages, we have to tackle the disadvantages.