We should pay more attention to individuality and comfort in the way we dress instead of following the latest fashion trend. Do you agree or disagree? Elaborate on your choice with reasons and examples.

It is argued that the way one dresses should be based on his personality as well as on the comfortability of a clothing, rather than on tendencies brought by fashion trends. Although there are some exceptional cases, I mostly agree with the statement.

Considering my own observations in a sphere of fashion I can definitely say that there are times when fashion not only was uncomfortable, however harmful and funny. Instances for that are: corsets which gained its popularity 1900s, and history was a witness for moments when one wearing corset has died on lack of oxygen going in to the body. Another harmful trend is shoes with tall heels even though it does not kill, shoes themselves have a negative effect on a backbone and circulation of the blood. Speaking of funny and clumsy trends I can bring Patterned Tights- they were multi colored and supposed to show one’s legs thinner (patterned tights were popular in 1960s), piercings were all funny, awkward harmful and mostly frightening due to them making one different from a usual humankind.

As I mentioned in the first paragraph there are some cases when the statement is not fully true. This is related to only specific occasions or events related to fashion and branding only. Those can be: Milan Fashion Week, Met Gala and others.

To sum up, choosing piece of clothing is everyone’s own business. Every one of us has a choice and right of choosing what to wear, unless it suits the occasion and does not have an effect on surrounds.