As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Besides making a profit, businesses should also be responsible for society. I completely agree with the idea that companies should have more social obligations than simply making money.

On the one hand, I accept that businesses must make a profit to survive in a competitive world. The priorities of any company are revenue and profit that they make. By doing that, they can cover their running costs, such as employees’ wages and payments for buildings and utilities. In addition, on top of these costs, businesses also need money for re-investment, research and development, and innovations if they wish to remain successful. If a company could not meet the changing demands of customers and re-investment, there is nothing that it would not do for society. In other words, only after earning a profit can the company contribute to the country.

On the other hand, businesses should not run with the sole aim of maximizing profit. Firstly, owners and managers need to treat their employees well rather than exploiting them. For example, they could pay a “living wage” to ensure that workers have a good quality of life. Secondly, I also like the idea that businesses could use a proportion of their profits to support local charities, environmental projects, or education initiatives. Finally, instead of cheating on paying the tax by using accounting loopholes, company bosses should be happy to contribute to society through the tax system.

In conclusion, I agree that companies should place as much importance on their social responsibilities as they do on their financial objectives.