As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divided on whether apart from concentrating on the main purpose which is to create profits, business should not neglect other social aspects. This essay will completely approve of this viewpoint.

In fact, some businesses have to take the responsibilities of social perspectives owing to several reasons. Chief among these is that as well as making money, corporations should also focus on their workforce instead of exploiting them excessively to maximise the company’s profits. In other words, businesses can increase their workers’ satisfaction by improving work facilities or providing numerous infringe benefits at work, which can encourage the workers to produce more productivity as well as profits for them. If the business only requires their employees to make as much money as possible, gradually, a huge quantity of them may quit their jobs due to the heavy workload. Consequently, instead of achieving better results, these companies are likely to suffer from a significant decrease in productivity or even go out of business due to a lack of workforce.

Another noticeable rationale behind my idea is that beside businesses’ primary financial aim, they also need to take notice of environmental impacts. In truth, numerous businesses have a tendency to neglect some issues relating to the environment. Some paper corporations, for example, exploit the natural resources and chop down a huge number of trees for their manufacturing and have no possible measures to conserve the ecosystem. This practice can result in adverse problems, such as nature degradation or even global warming, which can severely damage the environment and human beings as a whole. Thus, caring about these environmental issues is mandatory to businesses in terms of sustaining society.

In conclusion, because of numerous aforementioned demerits of ignoring social duties, I believe that businesses should focus on these aspects as well as creating profits.