As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, more and more businesses do not make efforts to seek profit but also contribute to society as one of their missions. I completely agree with the assertion that businesses should repay society through corporate social responsibilities.

On the one hand, the business has existed as an economic entity characterized by activities aimed at making money which makes sense to agree profit is also a critical objective of any enterprise. Business needs money to cover its running costs for survival and growth. Paying operating fixed costs like Ground-Hired costs and variable costs like material, employee wage,... is the most basic requirement if you want to maintain your business. Besides, intense competition for companies to constantly innovate and refine their products and services as well as capture and meet customer insights. Moreover, employees need more training and fringe benefits encouraging them to work more effectively and efficiently, as a result, business performance increase. If a company is unable to ensure its normal run, all responsibilities are frivolous.

On the other hand, companies should not be run with the sole aim of maximizing profit; they have a responsibility to contribute to a better society. Firstly, they should be concerned about their inside society, more specifically, employees. For example, they should pay a decent salary to ensure the standard quality of life for workers. Secondly, companies could use a proportion of profit helping people in difficult circumstances or improve the environment. This kind of activity not only better society but also be considered a way to upgrade brand image lead to increased sales thereby increasing profits. Business and society will be in a win-win relationship.

In conclusion, I believe that in addition to profits, businesses should focus on social obligations which will create a win-win relationship for society and the company.