As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Making money is important to any organization, but earning profit should not be the only motive. It's also necessary for businesses to have social responsibilities and I completely agree with the given statement.

The first reason for supporting my idea is that businesses must make money in order to survive. It costs companies a lot of money to run the business. They need to pay employees' wages, cost of raw materials, cost of land rent, pay the utility bills, etc... Moreover, if hey want to remain successful, the have to invest in their improvements and innovations so as meet the changing needs of customers. In short, organizations need to make money to maintain and grow their business.

In addition to maximizing profit, companies should make a positive contribution to society. To retain good employees, business need to treat them well, rather than exploiting the to ensure that they have a good quality of life. Companies which focus on their profit only and sole aim of maximizing profit can be infamous in the eyes of partners and society. To build a good reputation, business need to use a proportion of their profits to support local charities, environmental projects or education initiatives. Besides, they have to conform to the rules of the tax system or else they will face the punishment of the law.

In conclusion, businesses should assume social responsibilities as well as making money. I/m in favor of the idea that taking social responsibilities can provide an organization both profits and good reputation. If there are many such companies, society will develop well both economically and socially.