As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that businesses should shoulder social resonsibility beside generating income. I somewhat agree with this view as businesses obtain a myriad of merits from the society, albeit not all problems associated with society should fall on these organizations.

Businesses are beneficial from a healthy society in two main dimensions. The first benefit is that a stable society paves the way for the growth of companies. It is thought that decent business environment safeguards firms from unexpected events that may jeopardise their operations. To illustrate, social evils reign supreme in Mexico in recent years, has led to the withdraw of foreign companies from the nation. Additionally, contribution of economic organizations to society also improves the performance of their workforce. Employees of companies are members of community, which means that when businesses sponsor for local ceremonies or voluntary campaigns, their staff or the staff's relatives are likely to receive such values. The occasions not only strengthen social solidarity but render working people happier. Thus, given their supports, companies themselves can maintain the structure of society and boost the productivity of their workers.

However, it is not to say that economic entities should hold accountable for all societal issues. This will distract them from their foremost role, optimizing the use of resources and creating more output for humanity. It is therefore important for businesses to decide which category of social challenges will be their main interest. While doing so will reduce the risk of wasting resources, society can earn more values.

In sum, I mostly concur with the perception that firms should be responsible for certain problems of society. This is because firms can reap benefits in forms of enhanced business atmosphere and productivity of working people, even though their intervention should restrict to a certain extent.