As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

There is an increasingly growing interest in social corporate responsibility among enterprises in recent years. Yet, there remains some disagreement as to whether the overall effect of this trend has been positive or negative. While there are valid arguments to the contrary arguing that social corporate responsibility is obviously a waste of resources, I personally believe that it is business's mission to both create profits and to take care of society.

On the one hand, the efforts of companies to maximize their profits may have some benefits for society as a whole. Not only does it contribute enormously to the government's tax but it also creates more job vacancies for citizens. Thanks to their tax contribution, it relieves partial financial burdens with the society that consequently leads to enhancement in medical services, education as well as country infrastructure. Furthermore, more job opportunities will definitely make the unemployment rate far less severe. A country with low unemployment rate will eliminate starving and crimes which in consequence increase quality of life.

Equally importantly, businesses should also accept that they have social responsibilities. The first reason is that their activities have an impact on the environment. Many businesses develop in the expense of serious environmental degradation including global warming stemming from factory emissions or the irresponsible disposal of industrial waste. Nevertheless, if factories installed waste treatment systems instead of discharging chemical wastes into rivers, water pollution could be controlled.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that enterprises should conduct their business in a socially responsible manner. If it were not for sustainable resources, enterprises would struggle to achieve a sustainable growth rate.