As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that not only do corporations make money but they also need to have public responsibilities. In my opinion, besides generating profit, I strongly believe that conducting businesses in a socially responsible manner is one of the top priorities for each firm.

On the one hand, generally, while making money, the companies also benefit society in many ways. The more profit the businesses earn, the more taxes they have to pay. Governments can use those taxes to spend on healthcare, education, and entertainment. Therefore, life equality can be improved. In addition, companies that make efforts to maximize their profit can expand, and as a result, they will provide citizens with more jobs, which reduces the unemployment rate. For example, businesses can use their capital to expand their production and create new job opportunities within the community.

On the other hand, there are many reasons why companies should agree to have social obligations. One reason is that their operations have a profound influence on the environment. The emissions from factories lead to environmental pollution such as the greenhouse effect, global warming, and ozone depletion, which affect badly residential areas. Therefore, firms have to be responsible for their actions contaminating the environment by using new technologies to recycle wastes instead of disposing of them right away. Another reason is that companies earn a lot of money, so they should put money back into the community through charity to help people in need. They can also do some philanthropic actions such as providing scholarships and giving donations. Vinamilk Company, for example, contributed to the improved nutritional status of children in special circumstances by giving them more than 100 free bottles of fresh milk.

In conclusion, although I agree that generating profit is the fundamental principle of business, I would believe that companies should also have consideration for social responsibilities