What are the advantages and disadvantages for children of watching television? Discuss both sides.

It has been common for quite a long time for children to watch television. However, there are both advantages and disadvantages of doing it. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument before giving own opinion.

The first obvious advantage is watching television could relax a child‘s mind. In many countries, especially in Asia, more and more parents often put their son or daughter under pressure to study hard, but their children are rarely allowed to outside to decrease stress levels. Thus, watching television is a good way for them to relax. For example, when they watch it with family, other members of their family can help them to solve some problems in school together, which will improve children’s mood.

Moreover, a good hobby like watching television can help effectively prepare a child for the interesting world of study. Today, we live in the era of globalisation, so we should search and learn about many things from any possible source. Television’s programmes are reliable sources which children can look for. For instance, in Vietnam, children between six and twelve could learn English or useful things from Disney channel, Natural Discovery or 3D Handmade. Therefore, we should encourage them to follow these programmes.

However, television still has a lot of programs or movies which are unsuitable for children. For example, if a child watch a violent movie or adult’s film, their personality will be suffer from this.

In conclusion, the decision of whether or not children should watch television depends on both pros and cons - it may be beneficial, but they should consider watching television with the above points in mind.