What are the factors which are related to academic success in high-school students?

Whether a learning journey takes a high-school student to success or failure depends on a number of components. On the one hand, determination of the students plays an essential role in pursuing their personal goals. However, on the other hand, extrinsic factor such as economic background exerts influence on the learning environment.

The first aspect affecting academic success among high school students is dedication. Academic success can be defined as the ability to reach the educational targets which were set by the students. For instance, a struggling student has to try harder in lesson revision and asks for help from other peers if he wants to improve his grades. Although some might say that the knowledge taught in school is too challenging for the students, this simply is not the case. All of the subjects are standardized according to international guidelines, and students who refuse to try their best will fall behind.

Another element contributing to success in high school study involves the financial status of high school students. Students whose parents can afford high-quality private schools will have their true potential developed. This is due to the expensive facilities of those schools which allow for the pursuit of students’ hobbies. For example, the students can enjoy the freedom to do chemical experiments in laboratories, to play musical instruments in art workshops, or to go swimming in the school pool. Moreover, graduates of prestigious schools have a higher chance to get accepted at more successful job positions in the future.

In conclusion, the educational path of a student is impacted by both the characteristics of the student himself and the environment which he is put in. The students who are willing to face schoolwork challenges will be as equally successful as those who are financially secured.