What are the pros and cons of using public transport?

Nowadays, using public transport has been becoming increasingly popular. Many people choose public transport because they want to make a contribution to protect the environment. However, there are certainly some benefits as well as drawbacks to this tendency and this essay aims to highlight both.

One of main advantages of public transport is to better the environment. When people use public transort more and more, they will stop going by car. Hence, the congestion will decrease. In addition, the exhaust fumes from car will become less. The petrol consumption will also fall. Therefore, all of results of stopping using private cars will lead to protecting the environment.

Secondly, using public transport will save the money and resources of both individuals and society. Going by public transport often cost less than other private vehicles because it is subsidized by the government. Also, it is more efficient when comparing the cost per person for travelling. As I represented above, the petrol consumption and carbon emissions will decrease when public transportation is used, so the total cost to society will decrease

Thirdly, public transportation will bring more jobs and more social interactions between people. When travelling by public transportation there are chances to talk and to interact with the people around us. Sometimes, it’s a small joy when you discover a cabinmate has the same viewpoint. Besides, public transportation creates a lot of jobs, hence, it will aid the development of the economy.

Having looked at both sides, slowness is a major problem. Many are is often behind the timetable, which bring about the loss of passengers. For example, I went by bus to a recruiting company for an interview. However, the bus did not run on the schedule so I was late when I went to the company, then the company refuse to recruit me.

Another disadvantage is that public transport such as buses, trains are very crowded. Sometimes, there is not enough space for passengers to have a seat. The vehicle are also used for a long time, therefore, they can be very out of date and dirty. All of these factors make the passenger feel very inconvinienced.

To sum up, going by public transport has both positives and negatives. While people could save money and protect the environment by using public transportation, they have to endure the inconvinience and slowness. In my opinion, if the government invests in modernising public transportion in the years to come, it witll attract a huge number of people to use it.