What are the pros and cons of using public transport?

In this day and age, public vehicles are increasingly becoming a popular means of transport. Whereas they bring about a huge amount of benefits, there are also problems resulted from these vehicles. The following essay will discuss why we should use public transport more regularly and some issues to be overcome.

On the upside, using public transport is environmentally friendly. In this hustle and bustle world, together with greenhouse effect and global warming caused by humans, the environment is polluted severely. For this reason, if we use public transports such as buses, taxis, ferries, underground and so on, we can help reduce the amount of exhaust fumes and harmful gases released into the air by private vehicles, thus preventing air pollution effectively. Furthermore, public transport is also convenient for people who can't afford to buy their own car. We can take public transport and go to any destination at a low-cost price. Last but not least, as more and more people begin to use public transport, there will be more jobs offered to drivers, that way, the prospect of unemployment can be resolved partly. Besides, in our country, if you have a family member who is a driver, then you can take any public transport without paying.

Turning to the other side of the argument, for many, these vehicles may be quite inconvenient. The first thing is that during rush hours, railway station, underground station or bus stop seem to get bustling, so it's quite uncomfortable when there isn't any seats available and some people have to stand for a long time before reaching their chosen destination. Another major drawback of public transport is that it's really dirty and has low quality, with full of tickets scattered on the floor and messy seats.

All things considered, there are both pros and cons of using public transport. We have to weigh up not only the positive aspect of environmental friendliness, job opportunities but also the negative ones of inconvenience and quality. However, I believe that the advantages will outweigh the disadvantages in current state of the world when pollution is rising, and public transport can get better if the governments pay more attention to improve public transportation system.