To what extent is the use of animals in scientific research acceptable?

Nowadays more and more animals used in the scientific research. Some people believe that it is unnecessary and unacceptable as the animals are also the beautiful creature of God while others think that these experiments are necessary to make human life easier and comfortable.

According to some people, the scientific experiments on animals are totally unnecessary and irrelevant. They argue that there is a vast difference between the human body structure and the body of animal. So the experiments done by scientists on animals are rarely effective. Also they believe that, the animals also have right to live freely and naturally on the earth and we as a human do not have power to treat them the way we want.

On the other hand, most of the people have the view that these experiments on animals are necessary to make human life healthier and comfortable. Scientific researches have proved that some of the animals have similar body structure that we have. So it is advisable and feasible to do experiments on animals first and perform some basic analysis and then start experiments on humans. This approach will cause less damage and cost for the research. Apart from this, It is really hard to find the human body for scientific experiments. So scientists do not have any other option because there are very few persons present in this world who are ready to make themselves available for these experiments. One of the best examples of this is the earlier space programs carried by NASA. In first couple of attempts, they sent the space flight carrying dogs and evaluated the results and then decided to send the space rocket carrying humans.

In conclusion, I prefer that the scientific experiments on animals are acceptable only if we do not have any other options available and also the government should implement rules and regulations to protect the identity of every animal used in such researches.