What is land law?
Most transactions relating to land are based on contract. A simple example would be a
contract to clean the windows of a house. There is no need for a special body of law to
deal with disputes regarding window cleaning: the law of contract provides the answers.
What is special about land law is that it allows somebody to be affected by an obligation
when contract cannot apply. Take this example. I agree that Malcolm can possess my
house for a year at a rent of £1,000 a month (a lease or tenancy). A week later, I sell and
transfer the house to Nicola. As between Malcolm and Nicola, there is no contract.
However, because a lease is an interest in land it will bind Nicola, who will have to allow
Malcolm to possess it for the full year. Land law is concerned with those rights and
interests relating to land which can affect purchasers: these are what we call interests in
land, or proprietary interests. The many controversial policy issues concerning the
extent and effect of interests in land will form the basis of much of this book.
The way in which the law draws lines as to what is an interest in land is illustrated by
the following example, taken from the law relating to covenants (promises in formal
witnessed documents called deeds). Alan has both an expensive house and a smaller
adjoining one. He is selling the smaller one and is concerned about how its use and
appearance might affect his retained house. Accordingly, Alan requires the purchaser,
Brian, to promise (i) not to use his house for any purpose other than a family home and
(ii) to paint it every five years. Nine years later, Brian sells his house to Caroline.
When we consider possible issues as between Alan and Brian, these can be dealt with
under normal contract principles: there is little or no need for any special land law.
However, it is the effect of these arrangements on Caroline which is more interesting.
Contract will not suffice: the burden of contracts affects nobody save the parties. This is
What issues arise in land law?
unaffected by the Contracts (Rights of Third Parties) Act 1999, as that relates only to the
benefit of contracts. For Caroline to be bound by the burden of the covenant, Alan will
need to be able to assert an interest in land.