When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

As modern technology gradually changed our lives, some people argue that the old patterns of living and skills should be discarded. However, I hold a totally opposite view that the dismerits should abandoned and the merits should be retained.

It is true that majority of the old techniques are not applicable to today’s market as it is extremely inefficient compared with modern methods. For example, people used to commute by horses and camels. It is hard to imagine we ride horses to work or study nowadays. The difference of knowledge determines most of modern man can not accept the old lifestyles, such as ignorance of hygiene. The extreme harmful ways of lives such as corseting in Europe and bending feet in China should remain abandoned without hesitation.

Nevertheless, traditional skills about art and aesthetics such as paper-cutting and blowing sugar figures need to be reserved because of their deeper spirits. Paper-cutting and pottery-making have been as the part of the intangible cultural heritage. Different from the products made by factory, the paper and pottery works functioning as the conveyer of culture and history need to be passed in generations. Same as those skills, some of the old living ways were inherited and recognized as customs. A case in point is that Chinese spring festival can be dated back to 5000 B.C., and we still celebrate it every year as it conveys the essence of culture values — reverence of nature and esteem of ancestors.

To conclude, abandoning all conventional skills and lifestyles is an unwise act, modern man should preserve the essence and discard the dross of the tradition.