When international media (including movies, fashion shows, advertisements and other TV programmes) convey the same messages to the global audience, people argue that the expansion of international media has negative impacts on cultural diversity. What is your opinion?

Nowadays, as international media companies expand across the world, the growing popularity and uniformity of some media programmes (TV shows, movies, fashion shows) is resulting in worldwide concern. many people have strong view toward this trend. To an extend, i agree globalisation through media has many advantages. However, it inevitably poses a threat to cultural diversity.

On the one hand, the domination of international media is a good carrier of knowledge and information. it brings people opportunity to get a deeper comprehension of cultures and diverse lifestyle. They can exchange languages and habits of different cultures, and easily understand each other. As a result, it helps people from all over the world be able to get closer, reducing the prejudice among nations. Besides, mass media also helps in countries development, whenever a country mimics successful plans of other countries, like the United European organisation where the countries involved in this organisation exchange news of flourishment and high achievements.

On the other hand, that international media deliver the same messages to civilians has potential to thwart cultural diversity. As a matter of fact, people are having tendency to imitate the lifestyles of other cultures. For example, young people, especially teenagers wear the dresses and customs of the famous stars appearing in the programmes. this trend makes people seemingly become the same and ultimately lose the cultural erosion of a country. In addition to that, international media is owned by giant corporations which control large sectors of the media market and force national media companies go to the wall. this, thus, causes a proportional reduction in the variety of programmes broadcasted, degrading the country’s economy.

In conclusion ,media has double-edged impacts on the society (while it profoundly enhances people’s knowledge, its detrimental impacts on the community are thought-provoking). From my perspective, people should not go in deep with it but entertain it within the limit to avoid its drawbacks.