Nowadays we live in the world of the Internet. The Internet may be useful not only for youngsters, but also for senior people in order to update information rapidly, while there are some problems to elderly people by their incorrect use. This essay will discuss some of these defects of using the Internet by the aged.

First, they need a proper assistance whenever they are utilising the net. It is true that computer technologies are developing and they require much knowledge about how to use the net properly. As a result, it may be difficult for those who are using the Internet without any guide. Moreover, there are many fake advertisements and haccers on the net. It is not difficult for them to steal your money via the net. For example, according to the last information of BBC, the number of people, especially senior people who lost a lot of money due to an online banking scam has increased sharply around the world.

Next, there is also possiblity that using the net encourages old people to do less exercise and it leads to some deseasses, such as diabets and high blood pressure. According to a recent newspaper report, old-age obesity has been on the increase. As people get older, they are less inclined to look after themselves well.

In conclusion, although there are some advantages to the elderly using modern technology, there are also problems caused via their inability to use it effectively. In my opinion, governments ought to begin investing in support programmes in order to help the aged use online services in the most satisfactory way.