Why children rebel against their parents

The relationship between parents and their kids must be the strongest bond; however, it is not usually like that. Sometime children are rebellious against their parents because of some different reasons.

The first reason is the children’s changes during puberty period. In this period, apart from physical development, children also go through psychological, social and emotional changes. These tremendous changes make them become oversensitive, irritated, angry, confused and lost. In this sensitive time, kids always assert their opinion and want to be independent; nonetheless, their parents are always overprotective and want to control over their children’s actions. As a result, there are conflicts between them. According to a study conducted by National Institute of Researching Society, 90 percent of adolescence conflict with their children in this phase of their life.

Another cause is high expectation of parents about what their kids will be. Parents always have dreams of their children’s success which puts more pressure on their children. In particular, they want their kids to have good manners and get high grades at schools or achieve a qualification which the children do not like. Consequently, the kids trend to oppose against their parents. For example, when a kid want to become a teacher but their parents push them to take part in Medical University, the child will rebel by not attending classes.

The last cause is seeking for attention of their parents. Indeed, currently most parents are busy with their own career so they do not spend a lot of time on taking care of their children. This makes kids feel lonely and vulnerable, thus they rebel against their parents to be looked after more. Mr. John Smith, a professor in Psychology department of Harvard University revealed that 65 percent of rebellious teenagers result from lack of their parents’ attention.

In conclusion, there are some main causes of children’s rebellion against their parents including changes during adolescence, high expectation of parents about their children and drawing parents’ attention. From my perspective, parents should listen to their opinion to sympathize them more and spend more time for them to prevent from unwanted conflicts.