Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a
waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?
Some people argue that it is pointless to spend money on the protection of wild
animals because humans have no need for them. I completely disagree with this
point of view.
In my opinion, it is absurd to argue that wild animals have no place in the 21st
century. I do not believe that planet Earth exists only for the benefit of humans, and
there is nothing special about this particular century that means that we suddenly
have the right to allow or encourage the extinction of any species. Furthermore,
there is no compelling reason why we should let animals die out. We do not need to
exploit or destroy every last square metre of land in order to feed or accommodate
the world’s population. There is plenty of room for us to exist side by side with wild
animals, and this should be our aim.
I also disagree with the idea that protecting animals is a waste of resources. It is
usually the protection of natural habitats that ensures the survival of wild animals,
and most scientists agree that these habitats are also crucial for human survival. For
example, rainforests produce oxygen, absorb carbon dioxide and stabilise the
Earth’s climate. If we destroyed these areas, the costs of managing the resulting
changes to our planet would far outweigh the costs of conservation. By protecting
wild animals and their habitats, we maintain the natural balance of all life on Earth.
In conclusion, we have no right to decide whether or not wild animals should exist,
and I believe that we should do everything we can to protect them.