Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Penalizing the crime is vital to control and deter the act of offence. Some people state that capital punishment makes our life more secure by reducing crime rates. In my opinion, death penalty is not paramount factor to diminish crimes lonely in society and other measures should be taken.

On the one hand, capital punishment is not so deterrent to avoid new crimes. Although, death sentence is one of the strongest penalty to control violence from ancient times to our ages, crime has never disappeared yet. For example, the countries which execute death penalty such as Iran and China have higher crime rates than many other western countries which has left the discipline method people paying with their lives. Thus, death penalty cannot solve the root of the wrong-doing in communities.

Moreover, punishment has not ability to get rid of the offencing behaviours and secure the civils. Because of that tackling with the main source of crime should be the main point in this battle. Security measurement including education and promoting peace within the public should be taken. For instance, in Sweden, which has highest education levels in the world, the capital punishment has prohibited but it has lowest the offence rates in the world. Therefore rather than executing death penalty,rising education levels and taking other measruments would be the first step to build a secure society.

To sum up, neverthless the capital punishment might be an essential and strongest way of punishment to deter crime, it hasn't halted all crime in many countries. I belive that increasing public awarenes about crime by educating people may be best solution to settle a secure community and decrease violence.