Without capital punishment (death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes

of violent increase. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is inevitable so that legal killing of offenders is necessary to protect the safety of human society, and this has spurred arguments whether authorities should implement this sentence as the vital method. As far as I concerned, despite several benefits of capital punishment as a panacea to purge violent crime of modern community, it is true root of moral and ethical wrong.

As a matter of fact, the death penalty has certainly been offering a tremendous advantage in terms of diminishing amounts of convicts. First and foremost, this punishment acts as a deterrent to make citizens think carefully before intending to commit any crimes. No longer do they make severe crimes such as murder, rape or other serial crimes, they are condemned to death. In addition, the death sentence will turn the likelihood of recidivism of felons into zero.

On the other hand, beneficial as it is, capital punishment, from my standpoint, presents detrimental consequences concerning with moral troubles. Initially, being masked by the term of a death penalty, killing offenders is also a crime in itself. In other words, it is a form of revenge, not retribution as proponents say. Last but not least, the capital sentence is truly immoral to innocent civilians who are wrongly convicted. In fact, there are several cases that they are eventually executed under unjust accusation before their innocence is proven.

All in all, whilst the positive impact of capital punishment has made upon society across a spectrum of security and safety of society, it is also a primary cause that triggers controversial issues correlated in moral aspect. Thus, the government should take this punishment into account before sentencing people to death.