Women and men are commonly seen as having different strengths and weaknesses. Is it right to exclude males or females from certain professions because of their gender?

It is undeniable that each gender has fairly distinctive competence and personalities which lead to disproportion between male and female employees of women in some cases. Therefore, some hold the opinion that women or men should be banned from certain jobs owing to their gender. From my point of view, I believe that it is a wrong action.

It would be an disadvantageous change to establish a law that excludes males or females from certain jobs. Not to mention the fact of having no positive influences, it can also be harmful to global economic growth. That one gender is not entitled to participate in a certain profession means that prospective candidates of the prohibited gender have no chance to unlock their full potential talents, and their abilities, in other words, are undeservedly wasted. Moreover, gender discrimination in labour market could result in gender inequality in other areas. Once gender-specific jobs appear, some courses may also restrict their participants to only one gender; hence, neither females nor males have rights to access an all-round education.

Another reason is that everybody should be at liberty to pursue their career, regardless of their gender. The fact that the world is getting more globalised comes along with the proliferation of gender equality; the mentioned viewpoint, thus, has no place in a modern and cultured society. When the capability of a person can be cultivated and improved overtime, that one gender is adept at a job considered to be more suitable for the other is not a rarity. Take a common example for this practice, while cooking normally constitutes a women’s fort (strength), there are many world-famous male chefs, namely Gordan Ramsay as well as Graham Elliot, two powerful judges of Master Chef.

To sum up, I am convinced that it would be unfair for people to be discriminated against purely on grounds of their gender in the recruitment process particularly and other areas generally.