WRITING TASK 2

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic:

News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

News editors' responsibility is to provide real information to the public no matter there are bad news or good news. Therefore, new editors need to consider about the new which is affect public safety or not. However, many media do choose good news to report which may let the public ignore the bad news.

Nowadays there are still some serious environmental problems, while many media do not tend to report something bad. They would choose to report some news are not that serious trying to make up the news.

It would not be better if more good news reported. First of all, more good news reported does not mean bad news do not exist. It is necessary for us to know anything happened all over the world. It is important that more good news reported not equal to more good news happened. Some country are trying to control the new reported like China. In case, there was some dreadful illness in China but the central government tried to hide the news, which causes the whole world could not adopt some action to protect the people's health due to the information was filtered and covered by China.

To conclude, news editors need to be independent and professional when broadcasting the news. There are many factors would influence the selection of news, but being a news editor need to tell the truth to the public instead of telling a good side of a new.