"Prevention is better than cure."

Out of a country's health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people claim that a large proportion should be diverted from medical treatment to spending on public health education and preventative measures. This essay agrees with this statement and would discuss the reason why prevention is better than cure.

Firstly, public health education aims to raise public awareness. Promoting the importance of prevention allows people to pay attention to eating, habits, etc. Those who experienced SARS in 2003 knew the importance of hygiene. Hong Kong, for example, during 2003 a man who traveled from mainland China to Hong Kong did not know he was sick bring the illness to different counties and cities. Aher that, many people aware that washing their hands, wearing mask enables people to prevent illness. It is important for people to be educated in public health. Given prevention allows people to decrease the probability to be sick so public health education should take into account.

Secondly, medical treatment aims to help people recover from the disease. Given medical treatment need to help those who already being sick this is the step after disease happened. To maintain a place's health need to step by step. Public health promotion could address the root of the problem. Medical treatment is a method to recover those who are sick instead of preventing people to sick.

To sum up, I do think that prevention is better than cure, it is important for a country to promote public health. Public health should be the significant part of country's health budget to maintain a place's awareness of health.