You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor.

Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

From the beginning of human history, there were records showing how humans used herbals and other natural therapies to treat disease and to enhance physical fitness. This is called alternative medicine and treatment, and it is still practised by some people around the world today. However, some people think this has numerous negative effects on human health compared to conventional medicine. In my opinion, I totally agree with this viewpoint, and I will explain the reasons in the following paragraphs.

First, there are numerous statistics showing the number of people who have suffered from alternative medicine in their bodies, because most of this has not been scientifically proven and acknowledged. For example, cases of liver damage were reported by the UN hospital due to the use of a type of herbal medicine deprived from a plant called kava-kava. In addition, the effect of various herbal medications is questionable, such as ginseng, which is often used to improve physical and cognitive performance; however, there is no clear scientific evidence to support this use. In fact, in some kinds of herbal medicine, scientists have found elements that cause dermatitis or carcinogenesis. Secondly, the unconventional treatment also lacks convincing proof of beneficial effects on human health. For example, acupuncture caused heart and lung damage or even fatality was recorded in many cases.

Admittedly, several alternative therapies may have positive outcomes for human health. For example, massage therapy can decrease stress, anxiety, and depression. However, compared to the consequences of this treatment, people should take precautions when making the decision of whether to choose this treatment instead of conventional medical treatment.

In conclusion, alternative medicine and treatment have a lot of negative impacts on human health. Besides, their positive effects are not totally supported by scientific evidence.