Young people are often influenced in their behaviors and situations by others of the same age. This is called peer pressure. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages?

One school of thought holds that adolescent people usually follow their friends' behaviors and situations. This essay attempts to shed light on the benefits and drawbacks of this phenomenon before concluding I advocate for the former.

On the one hand, it is irrefutably true that peer pressure could bring a host of adverse impacts on the youngsters. First and foremost, teenagers tend to imitate the bad actions of others of the same age to get the feeling of being as a group. For instance, a myriad of youngsters who started smoking at a young age due to following their friends. Moreover, there are plenty of other activities which have harmful effects such as dropping out of school, addicting online games and even committing crime in the worst-case scenario. Another demerit of peer pressure is that teenagers always want to possess what their fellows have. If these fashionable things are unaffordable, it will put a financial burden on their family.

On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons why I am convinced that peer pressure could offer several visible benefits for young people. One justification is that teenagers can learn a myriad of valuable lessons if they make friends with the right students. It is a good way to get motivation in learning. Their desires to be better than their peers can help them improve their academic performance. Another rationale is engaging in a peer group can assist youngsters have new experiences such as exotic food or adventurous games which they have never tried before. To be more specific, thanks to peers’ motivation, teenagers might have more courage to play bungee. In addition, they can get support to enroll in some school’s competitions.

In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that peer pressure could have some drawbacks, I would contend that the benefits it offers are more noteworthy.