Young people spend much of their free time on shopping malls. It has negative

effects in both young people and the society that they live in. To what extent do you

agree or disagree?

Currently, the young have tendency to spend the huge amount of time on going to shopping centres in their leisure time. It is believed that this trend can bring the disadvantages to youngsters as well as social as a whole. I strongly agree with this view.

To begin with, spending much free time on going shopping has some negative effects on individuals. First and foremost, this is a hobby which waste time and money. Due to the fact that more time you use for buying something on shopping malls, less time you have for other activities. It is better for people to read the books, learn other language or do other essential things in their free time rather than going out for shopping for hours. Besides, when people go shopping, they are easily attracted by a chain of clothing stores and waste money on unnecessary things because of temporary interest. Other disadvantage is, lose the social relationships, not only with their families but also with friends and colleagues. Since they take the much time to go to malls, they have no time to care about the members in their families and make new friends.

In term of social, the communities can suffer from a decrease in the standard of workforce. In detail, when people fond of going to shopping centres in their leisure time, they will not focus on their work and study. As a result, the economy will be influenced negatively because of the less quality of employees. This means that the standard of their lives drop significantly and the development of the country are much worse than other nations.

In conclusion, I assume that young people should spend less time on shopping malls because of detrimental impacts on both personal and social.