01.11.2017

At present, the media affects people’s lives significantly. What impact does this have on the society? Is it a negative or a positive development?

Today a few individuals would argue against the idea the media has a great influence on the public. Below a closer look will be taken at the impact and its consequences for the society as well as whether this is an advantageous development or not.

To begin with, television, the radio, newspapers, magazines and such internet services as Facebook, Twitter and Instagram appear to be shaping people’s value system by steering their attention to one issue or another one. This is a great power because citizens’ understanding of normal conduct could be altered. To illustrate, ten years ago the media mostly ignored the theme of gender inequality; in fact, for many decades it was a normal practice to pay women less than men for doing the same job. But now, when this theme was put in a light spot, it has become unacceptable, and females’ salaries started to grow steadily. Furthermore, the mass media helps folks to control actions and decisions made by government structures. If there was no media, politicians and other officials would have unchecked power. For instance, till recently public was not aware of an American military presence in Niger, only after reporters had started to ask inconvenient questions, congresspeople began to investigate the actions of military personnel in the foreign country. Apparently, without the media, governments might have acted more ruthlessly and unreasonably than they do today. Those are examples of the media impact on the society.

However, there is a necessity to decide whether this influence is positive or not. On the one hand, the effect is benevolent because the society is being developed in a right direction and many painful issues that have been ignored for a long time are being addressed. Moreover, limiting freedom of government, holding it responsible for the decisions made are extremely important for functioning a healthy society. On the other hand, the media may be easily turned into a means of propaganda that is used by the powerful to distract people from really important and vital issues or to create an appearance of chaos and an impending catastrophe to force citizens to act in a certain way. Those some are instances of a negative effect. In other words, the trend has both advantages and disadvantages.

To sum up, although the media may be used to manipulate folks, the benefits definitely outweigh drawbacks because the press raises people’s awareness about urgent issues, problems and does not allow a government to act irresponsibly.