At present the media affects people’s lives significantly. What impact does this have on the society? Is it a negative or a positive development?

Media is one of the exorbitant achievements of the technology that have many vital effects in the today's pragmatic world. Currently, the role of media tends to cause some effects in most of our lives. This essay will deal about the various outcomes of the media and also provide my view on the growth of the media with respect to it merits or demerits.

The evolution of the media has a long journey and it has left traces in all the people. From the beginning of the days when media was started till today, people tend to become more aware of the happenings in the world, in other words, the awareness among the public has grown exponentially. Be the media in any form such as newspaper, television, radio or internet the knowledge that these media provide to the public is enormous. Media make people communicate with each other being in different continents. This also helps to know the various global events. However, even though it makes them educated, there are a plethora of circumstances where people are exposed to partiality. Public at times get to know only one side of the happenings. In many situations the media just provide information that is favorable to them. In fact, it sometimes portray news that is redundant or irrelevant. This makes the people to take wrong decisions. For example, there are many advertisements that exposes only the benefits of the product without mentioning its perilous effects. This can even cause remorse effects on public.

From my point of view, I will say the demerits of media outweighs its merits. People are displayed many unwanted and unprofessional contents in the media which kindles their mind to participate in unethical activities such as kidnapping, black mailing and abusing. Many people who intends to involve in these kinds of crime, provide the root cause as the media. In addition, the media also behaves as a cause to take away many lives. Here I like to quote an example that I recently read. The article is about a woman who tried to deliver her baby by watching few videos that she saw online. She neither consulted a doctor nor took any medicines. Ultimately, during her delivery she died due to the excessive blood loss. This death is purely tributed to the belief that she achieved from the media. If she was not influenced by these kind of things, she would be alive.

To recapitulate, there are various advantages and disadvantages that the media provide us, but it is our sole responsibility to take up the good things. Thus in this essay, few points were briefed about the effects of media on our lives.