31/10/2017

Some people believe that no homework should be given to children. Others, however, say that extra work is needed after school for children and teenagers in order to succeed. Discuss both the views and give your opinion including reasons and relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many aver pupils should not be given any assignments that must be done at home. Others maintain students ought to have homework. Below both prospects will be discussed and author’s opinion will be given.

On the one hand, avoiding giving extra work appears to be a reasonable idea. Firstly, there are formative years from early childhood to late adolescence when offspring’s bodies, brains and the nervous system are developing. This period is characterized by fragility and necessity to relax. Consequently, if a kid is to grow up healthy and strong, regular rest is a must and a schoolboy can have it only after school. Secondly, a successful individual must be able to communicate efficiently with other members of the society. Developing social skills, intellect and copying effective models of behavior require a lot of interaction with peers, relatives and other caregivers. Those experiences must have to be acquired behind school walls through playing, chatting, hanging out but not doing homework. In other words, the progeny that does not have to do extra studying at home is healthier physically, mentally and better adapt to life in the community than those who labor doing homework.

On the other hand, the proponents of giving homework regularly point at several benefits of this practice. Primarily, studying at home forges an ability to work and unearth knowledge independently. If a person wants to be successful in a workplace of the future, he is going to do a lot of extra work on his own since the elementary school to get needed skills and personal traits. Furthermore, the volume of information that must be learned during school years is enormous and it keeps growing steadily. Absorbing the data could be achieved only via loading students with a great deal of homework. In other words, the more extra work and practice are given to listeners, the more they will be prepared to the future life.

In my opinion, although each point of view has its own merits and drawbacks, giving home assignments is inevitable evil without which it is unthinkable to succeed in tomorrow's workplace.