Advances in technology and automation have reduced the need for manual labour. (opinion) Therefore, the working hours should be reduced.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the era of globalization, humans are making humans are making huge technology advancements. Although progress in technology and automation has increased the efficiency of the system and thus resulted in the reduction of manual labour. I staunchly agree with the statement that machines have contributed to the improvement of work-life balance. In the below paragraphs I will put forward relevant examples to elucidate further.

Firstly improvement in technology has brought in an era of digitization where information technology plays a pivotal role in complementing and enabling the system to be more efficient. For instance, earlier producing a network diagram for a complex telecommunication network used to take many days but with the use of automation software, a similar job can be accomplished in a few hours. Hence this has led to a reduction of man-hours which can be used to improve work-life balance for employees working globally. In a recent article published by The Reuters due to the introduction of automation in some companies in the United States, the working hours have been reduced for employees.

However, the introduction of automated software’s and computerization has led to a decrease in the possibility of human error which happened earlier due to callous human behaviour thus avoiding the repetition of the task. For instance, in a Bank, human currency counting is replaced by computerized machine counting which is correct and reduces the error caused due to human counting. This has led to the reduction of the repetitive task and eventually reduced the working hours. In Canada, many banks have employed new automation software which has reduced the human error rate and thus today the banks have reduced the working hours for its employees.

To conclude the advent of automation and technology are bringing efficiency, reducing the human error and reducing the man-hours for a particular task thus, in my opinion, the working hours should be reduced for the employee to enable them to have a better work-life balance.