In the age of computers and the internet, is there still a need for public libraries?

In modern society, librarians are being forced to defend their existence against accusations of irrelevance and I am strongly do not agree with this approach. There is no doubt that computers and the internet have played an extremely important role in our life but everything has two sides to it, for me public libraries have a vital role bridging the digital divide and teaching people how to get reliable information from the Internet.

Firstly, public libraries provide a key role in facilitating access to information via the internet. But you may forget Internet does not always exist, there are many places people living without technologies. At this point, public libraries will be the only available resources.

Secondly, there is ''Statistics for 2009'' research which suggests more than 10 million adults in the UK have never used the internet . Unsurprisingly, it is the poorest who are least likely to have an internet connection – only 52% of those with no qualifications have access. From what has been learned from the above, we can conclude that people nowadays not totally fall for the internet. Besides, there are still many users who cannot search the internet correctly and successfully. Some simply select the top result in Google rather than ensuring that their search terms are appropriate, and that the resource is reliable.

Internet may be the best way to access information fast, but it is not the best way to give reliable response. This is why the access provided in libraries is so important.