Art is considered an essential part of all cultures throughout the world. However, these days fewer and fewer people appreciate art and turn their focus to science, technology and business. Why do you think that is? What could be done to encourage more people to take interest in the arts?

A big section of the society believes that promoting arts, helps in the preservation of the local culture in many parts of the world. In comparison, an even larger part of the society agrees that the benefits of science, technology and business far outweigh those of the arts. A cogent reason for this is the monetary aspects linked to these fields. Alternatively, if conscious measures are taken to preserve the cultural heritage, it is possible to persuade people to follow arts.

On the one hand, the key determinant why people prefer STEM and trade to the arts, is due to the job and career prospects these streams bring along. In addition, a graduate trained in STEM or one setting up a business is considered to be more practical and settled, unlike an arts graduate who really has to struggle hard to find a feasible job. Moreover, a country needs advancements in science and technology streams as these contribute to the overall growth of an economy. For instance, a recent study by Gartner showcased that only 5% of arts graduate were able to find a suitable job post their studies, unlike 85% of successful students graduated from other streams.

On the other hand, it is the responsibility of the government to take certain steps to promote local arts and culture forms. Firstly, providing the citizens with free or subsidised access to art galleries, museums or theatres, might make them visit these places quite often. Secondly, organising cultural shows portraying local history through dance, stories and folklore will additionally entice people to know more about their historical past. Furthermore, such activities could also lead to the promotion of such places as a hot tourist attraction. For example, the footfall at The Esplanades in Singapore is almost double on the weekends as the theatres organise many free musical and theatrical performances for the audience.

In conclusion, it can be stated that careers in science, technology and business will always be preferred due to the monetary elements involved. At the same time, if the government takes certain focussed decisions, steps can be taken to revive the local arts heritage as well.