Being a celebrity – such as a famous film star or sports personality – brings problem as well as benefits.

Do you think that being a celebrity brings more benefits or more problems?

It is often argued that celebrity status,notwithstanding fame and wealth, is often plagued with problems like lack of personal space and constant media glare. I strongly believe that the benefits of celebrity status far outweigh the problems and over the course of this essay will provide reasons for this viewpoint.

There are various reasons why people believe that celebrity status is a curse. Primary reason is the lack of personal space. Due to constant media attention and fan following, celebrities find it difficult to enjoy the simple things in life.For example, Indian national team cricketers are treated like demigods in India. Consequently, the cricketers find it rather difficult to venture in public spaces like shopping malls or hang out with friends and family in restaurants.This constant media attention could be overwhelming at times.

On the other hand, every coin has two sides. First of all, celebrities through their fan following can influence the society in a positive way. For example, Rajnikanth a famous movie star from India has a larger than life image. Recently his support and encouragement to local bullfighting sport influenced millions of students to hit the road and protest against government decision to stop bullfighting. Consequently, government was forced to reconsider the controversial decision. Another reason is, celebrities through their work, motivate and inspire millions of fans and general public alike. For instance, legendary cricketer Sachin Tendulkar has acted as a role model for generations of youth and has inspired them to reach out for the sky; no dream too big, no challenge too great.

Having considered a range of arguments, I have concluded that benefits of being a celebrity greatly outweigh the problems. From influencing the public in a positive way to acting as a role model, the benefits are far and wide.