The best way to understand other cultures is to work for a multinational organisation.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although many people believe that working in multinational companies is the most appropriate way to know about their culture: while, I think, nevertheless, it is a good way, but not the best way, thus I disagree with the statement. My inclination is justified in the ensuing paragraphs.

To begin with, however, MNCs give a chance to visit other countries and that in turn, provide an opportunity to know their culture and understand traditions. But it is not necessary that you would get selected for an ex-pats project. Besides, this is not the only way to know other civilizations one can go on vacations or for studies if they really want to know the customs of another country.

Further, when we go as an expat, our main aim would be to serve our company and expand it; thus, we would be indulged in working day and night. Our area of exploration would be limited to our office space or around the place we live in. Whereas, when we go on vacations, we go with the purpose to expand our knowledge about that nation and the lifestyle of the people living there. Also, we spend maximum time roaming around, meeting different people and talking to them to know about their civilization.

Another good way of international exposure is by studying abroad, this way one can see life from two different points of view, one from teachers point and another from classmates' eyes. This not only gives a better understanding but also tells the different aspects of that country. For instance, in India, a teacher might say we celebrate the Diwali festival, because, on that auspicious day God Rama came back home after completing exile of 14 years, on the other hand, students may say it's a Hindu new year, which is also true. Thus, we get encountered with two separate views where both are true.

To encapsulate, undoubtedly expatriate is one of the good options to expand our geographical horizon, but other options are also available, and which one is best completely depends on one’s preference. In my view, holidaying is the best option as we go there with the purpose to understand their culture and tradition.