In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Providing health care for elderly people has been an ongoing project in different countries. In some countries, such as Britain, there are facilities with medical staff provided for old people who are unable to take care of themselves. The cost of this care sometimes is within the responsibilities of the government, and sometimes the family is obligated to pay in order to benefit from the care. I believe the government’s role, in this case, must be more prominent.

To begin with, elderly people were used to be part of the society that were beneficial for their communities. They have put their effort and youth working for different corporates within various areas. By providing a suitable environment for this group, the government would cherish their efforts and prevent them from the feeling of being a burden on the shoulders of the rest of society.

On the other hand, some might believe that because these people have previously given birth to their children, taken care of their own family, and supported them financially until they grow up and stand on their own feet, now it is within their children’s responsibility to pay off their endless efforts and show their gratitude. However, there are lots of cases that once the parents get older and become unable to be financially independent, they become abandoned by their own children. Knowing that this kind of health care is available by the government’s support is relieving for senior citizens in order to spend the rest of their life happily and stress-free.

In conclusion, even though it is the moral duty of the families to take care of the elderly people once they need help, the support of this group by the government must be an obligation to each country’s health law.