In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recently year, the number of people who are living in nursing home in England, Wales and Ireland has been increasing. Some people said that family should pay for the care to the nursing homes. On the other side, some people believe that Government should take the responsibility for the cost of nursing homes because the first reason is that, some people are too old and they cannot pay for the care of other family members and the second reason is that some families cannot afford to pay for the care.

Initially, Government should pay for the cost of nursing home because some families have no young member in the family who can take the responsibility for the cost of care. Moreover, some countries have an aging population due to their healthier lifestyle and the advanced state of medical technology. To illustrate, it is predicted that the one third of Japanese population will be over 65 years with in 20 years. Therefore, it would not be possible for 70 years old person to pay for the care of their elderly parents in the future. I think taxpayer money should be used for elderly care.

Furthermore, financial condition varies depending upon the families, so some families cannot afford to pay the cost of nursing home; they have to take care of their elder. While, some people think it is natural to take care of their family members and they are willing to bath them, feed them and shower them, but the other people find it very difficult. It is not uncommon that family members use financial, physical, and psychological abuse on their elder parents because of the stress from taking care them. For example, due to the global economic recession, the number of euthanasia's cases has increased in some countries.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that government should take the responsibility for the care of aged person because some families’ members are too old to pay for them and might be a heavy burden to take care of them at home. Government should start the pension system for the care of elderly citizens.