In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In developed nations, such as Britain, senior citizens often move to old-age home where they can get better medical assistance. For which, the government often supply funds to run this place. In my opinion, it should be a joint responsibility to supply funds as the old citizens are equal part of both society as well as family.

To begin with, the prime responsibility to look after old people of the family is of family. If some families are incapable to take care of their retired people and choose to send them to a retirement home for whatever reasons, they should at least provide financial support. After all, they have sacrificed their whole life for the betterment of the next generations who should return the favor by providing aid. Besides, places like this needs enormous funds because of continuous medical emergencies and government alone is not capable to supply all the funds. Thus, families’ financial involvement to run such places is more essential.

However, the senior citizens are still part of a society as well nation and the authorities cannot afford to overlook one whole section of its citizens. Not only they have served the country directly or indirectly but some of them are still active part of the communities which means they deserve a proper care. Besides, the government has more resources, which they can effectively utilize to run old-age homes, compared to individual families. Hence, even government support is indispensable.

The most effective solution would be to incorporate more pension scheme by authorities so that these people can take care of themselves instead of seeking other people’s involvement. In India, for instance, pension plans which are run by the government are so strong that nobody has to worry about their old age.

In Conclusion, senior citizens are equal and essential part of family and community. Thus, it is combined responsibility of both to look after them rather than arguing on who should honor their duties.