In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old

people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has

to pay for this care.

Who should be responsible for our old people?

In Britain, the elder people go to Old-age homes to spend the rest of their lives. The question is, should they live this phase of the life all by themselves or is it the responsibility of the family to take care of them?

It is often seen that most of the families send their old parents or grandparents to Old-age Homes. One of the many reasons is the belief that they do not have enough time to look after the elderly. Secondly, the young generation believes that their old parents are surrounded by like-minded people at home-stay which makes spending time easier. Lastly, they have nurses for their help 24x7 and hence, do not need to bother themselves with household chores. However, there may be cases when that the nurses might not take full responsibility of the elderly and could not be trusted all the time.

Even though this appears to be a convenient option for the young children, they often seem to forget or rather ignore the fact that all elders need is love and affection from their family and children in this last phase of life. Moreover, at times, there is negligence in terms of the financial support from the family and the government of Britain ends up paying the dues to facilitate the poor, old people. In my opinion, we, as a part of young generation, are responsible for taking care of our parents, exactly as they did when we were growing up. It is completely unacceptable to leave your parents helpless at this age and that too depending on some strangers for their responsibility.

To conclude, the parents should always be with you irrespective of their age or phase of life. A rather better option is to have a help come at your home than to send your parents to an unknown place to let them live with the strangers.