In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with

other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes

the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

As people get old, question of taking their responsibility arises; even if they are sent to old homes, this question still sustains. In old homes, either government or the family has to pay their bills; however, I believe that despite all the complexities of our society, old people should be taken care by their families. Their expenses should be borne by their offspring, and besides family, governments should fix some allowances to their senior citizens.

In the past, family system was tremendously strong that such questions did not arise, but these days family structure has transformed massively that providing financial care to parents has become a hot issue. In my opinion, offspring should not abandon their parents and should realize their value. They should support their parents financially as they did so during their childhood and adolescence. Although lifestyle has altered completely as people have become more self oriented now, opposite from the past , members of the family can still finance their parents and grandparents even if they have to live in old homes. They should not abdicate from their responsibility at all.

However, it does not mean that senior citizens may be left in the lurch by the governments just because they are looked by their families. Since old people have served their country by working and spending their lives in, therefore, governments should allocate funds to them so that they could bear their expenditures and live independently. Even if a government cannot sponsor its senior citizens fully, then it can offer them some allowances and subsidized medical care.

To conclude, just like traditional family norms, it is the main responsibility of offspring to arrange money for expenditures of medicine, food and others for old family members. Governments can enhance this family sponsorship by funding and reducing the cost of facilities required to old people.