In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with

other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes

the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In Britain, over a certain age of people often go to live in a retirement home with other old people where they are looked after by nurses. It is sometimes for the government's responsibility to pay for this care. In my opinion, this care should be paid by the government. This essay will discuss the reasons and give relevant examples for that.

Older people should get benefits from the government including the care for the retirement home. Most people work for the whole life-time and pay taxes for the government. At the moment these taxes do not include the pay for older people who need special care onwards certain age. In fact, the government should create a new tax system that includes a small percent for elder people care. Some countries have an aging population which can be a hard problem for the whole state to deal with. For instance, Japan has an aging population and due to that, they are closing every year 400 primary schools to replace them with nursing homes and adult daycare centers.

Younger people pay an important role in taking care of older family members. Although sending older people into an elder home can be financially really hard there can be other solutions. For example, in Japan, the government encourages people to have three-generation households which means that youngsters are taking care of older people. This can be an option when the older person is still in good health otherwise they need special care by a nurse all the time. Thinking about future there should be more convenient facilities offering care for elder people that are paid at least half by government and half by family members. This makes it easier to manage financially.

In conclusion, people in the older age need some special care and this can be paid or supported by the government. If a person’s health is still good it can be taken into consideration that youngsters are taking care of the older family members.